When 25¢ is 25¢ too much

I was actually really excited when I found this book in the library’s ‘for sale’ rack. I’d got it out of the library when I was in high school but a friend of mine ended up reading it instead of me and I’ve always meant to go back and rectify that situation. And here was my chance! But, well, you’ll see. Honestly, I was willing to give it a chance until one of the characters said (more or less) “Well, nine times out of ten, when a girl gets raped, she was asking for it.” And then I threw it across the room.
Hopefully no science fiction aficionados will hate me for this. 

25¢ Review #4 – Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert Heinlein 

Reads like the shallow sci-fi sexual fantasy of some cleverer-than-thou “alternative” guru who, in his pimply youth, was misunderstood by all us lesser mortals.

2 comments

  1. OMG you are SO right! I read Heinlein when I was very young, and at the time, it was soooo wonderful . . . now? Uh, not so much. Yes, the “morality” (if you can call it that) was different back in my day when Heinlein was ‘all that’. But the thing is . . . that attitude is STILL hanging in, and that, more than anything, is totally horrifying.

    1. Haha, I probably should have prefaced it with “it’s very much a product of its time”. But you’re right, the main problem is that the attitude is still going strong!

Leave a Reply

